The 2023 American Baseball Correspondents’ Hall of Fame member will be chosen

[Sports Seoul|LA=Reporter Moon Sang-yeol] The top news of the major leagues on the 24th and 25th (Korean time) is the ‘2023 Hall of Fame Member’ selected by the American Baseball Correspondents Association (BBWAA). Fred McGriff, who became a member of the 2023 Myeongjeon last December, was elected by the Elders’ Committee.

The purity of Myeongjeon members is also different. It is best to be selected by the BBWAA five years after retirement. Admission in the first year of qualification is 100% pure. There are 59 people in history. David Otis, the designated hitter selected last year, also became a member in his first year of qualification. MLB legends Babe Ruth, Ted Williams, Hank Aaron, Nolan Ryan, Mariano Rivera and Derek Jeter have moved to Cooperstown, New York in their first year of eligibility.

In 2023, there are 28 candidates for the BBWAA vote. Of these, 14 are in their first year of qualification. Among the first-year candidates, there is virtually no candidate who has the possibility of joining the Myeongjeon. The highest rating is Puerto Rican outfielder Carlos Beltran. He won Rookie of the Year and played for seven teams in his 20 years in the MLB. He had a career batting average of .279, 435 home runs, 1587 runs batted in, and 312 stolen bases. He is a nine-time All-Star, three-time Gold Glove, and two-time Silver Slugger Award winner. In 2017, he was revealed as the main player in the Houston Astros’ sign stealing, and after being selected as the manager of the New York Mets, he resigned without even playing a game. There is no chance of getting 75% support in the press corps vote this year.

If less than 5% of support is obtained in the American Baseball Journalists’ vote, it is completely eliminated. If you get more than 5% support, you can be trusted by the reporters for 10 years. Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens, and Kurt Schilling, who are facing drug charges, completed 10 years of qualification last year and were transferred to the Contemporary Era Baseball Committee in 2033. The committee consisted of 16 members, including 6 members including former member Greg Maddux, 7 members from former front executives including the owner, and 3 baseball reporters and MLB historians. The committee also requires support of 75% or more than 12 people. McGriff was selected here.

The press vote has already ended. Announcement is always in late January. The key is whether the press corps produces more than 75% of supporters. In the 2022 poll, third baseman Scott Rolen won 63.2%, first baseman Todd Helton 52.0%, and closer Billy Wagner 51.0%. Helton is a Colorado Rockies one-club man. Second baseman Jeff Kent is out this year. Last year, 32.7% supported it. Reporters are predicting the possibility of Rolen joining among the three.

Based on a BBHOFTRACKER.COM vote of 179 reporters, the MLB Network predicted 79.3% for Rolen, 79.3% for Helton, and 73.2% for Wagner. However, the ballot for baseball reporters was 394 in 2022. The voting tendency of half of the baseball reporters is an unknown figure. Last year, there was a big difference between the forecast and the actual opening. MLB Network analyzed that considering the actual difference between the expected and actual difference based on 2022, Rolen may not receive 75% support as a difference of -7.8 and Helton -5.0% is revealed. The baseball reporters did not produce a member of the Myeongjeon in 2021. 메이저놀이터

Rolen is in his 6th year of qualification this year. He debuted with the Philadelphia Phillies and spent 17 years with four teams, including the St. Louis Cardinals, Toronto Blue Jays and Cincinnati Reds. He was a third baseman with both offense and defense. He had a career batting average of .281, 316 home runs, 1287 runs batted in, and 118 stolen bases. He won Rookie of the Year in 1997. He is a seven-time All-Star, eight-time Gold Glove, and tasted the 2006 World Series championship. He is a member of the St. Louis Myungjeon. He graduated from Indiana University, where basketball was his representative sport. He’s from Evansville and he’s trending with Don Mattingly (the Toronto Blue Jays bench coach).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.